Dual 1218 -does not spin

twice the fun
Ayralin69

Dual 1218 -does not spin

Post by Ayralin69 » 06 Nov 2014 22:02

Hello - on advice from member "musicmn" - I am posting here, after attempting to get my Dual 1218 functioning.

I followed his advice on setting up other components, with hand-me-down audio equipment. Things worked, until I hooked up the Dual 1218 turntable.

The platter does not spin. If I manually "kick start" it, it moves, slowly decreases speed.....but as it spins, the arm starts to work, however the slowing speed ends any functions.

If I gently touch the needle - I DO hear scratchy sound through the speakers.

I am not a turntable repair person - I am a nurse who works in a max security prison. I can respond to stabbings and staff assaults, bandage the wounded, calm the players - but I cannot make this turntable work! Even with a repair manual -it's just not my area of understanding :?

Can someone direct me to a business, hobbyist or someone who can give the turntable a once-over/ look-see/ or tune-up?

I am just east of St. Paul, Minnesota.

Thanks,
Linda

dualcan
long player
long player
Canada

Re: Dual 1218 -does not spin

Post by dualcan » 09 Nov 2014 19:31

Hi Linda,
Unfortunately I do not know of any service person in your area and I was hoping to see someone coming to your aid. Perhaps someone did?
If, as I fear you are still stuck, and are just a bit used to handling some very basic tools, (screwdriver for the most part) I will guarantee that the 1218, which is one of the real fine Duals, BTW, will give you not even a fraction of the trouble nursing it back to health as opposed to your daily chore..!
The problem that I see on your turntable is just old age which can, for these units be reversed...